Du Du Du

by Jane Moneypenny

Set me free, leave me be. I don’t want to fall another moment into your gravity.
Here I am and I stand so tall, just the way I’m supposed to be.
But you’re on to me and all over me.

You loved me ’cause I’m fragile.
When I thought that I was strong.
But you touch me for a little while and all my fragile strength is gone.

-Sara Bareilles, “Gravity”

My latest musical discovery/obsession is Sara Bareilles. Her catchy song “Love Story” is played everywhere nowadays, so I listened to the rest of her album and found it really pleasing. It’s funny because back in the day of post-breakups and heartaches, these songs were the kinda I mellowed in. All those songs filled with emo lyrics of loss and love! Since I’m not longer in that phase of tears and drama, I was surprised to find I enjoyed Sara Bareilles latest record “Little Voice.” Musically, it’s fun and she’s got a strong voice, especially when it’s just her and the piano. Truthfully, it’s empowering to having lived her lyrics, but to no longer be experiencing them right now.

Another great album? Juno soundtrack! It’s pretty damn catchy, especially “All I Want Is You,” “Tree Hugger,” and of course “Anyone Else But You.” I think my next endeavor will be to learn to play that last one. And I find I’m kinda digging Cat Power’s rendition of “Sea of Love.”

Here is the church and here is the steeple
We sure are cute for two ugly people
I don’t see what anyone can see, in anyone else
But you

-The Moldy Peaches, “Anyone Else But You”

My goal of getting into jazz piano just may come true this summer. My fingers have been itching to touch some ivory.

