Pint-sized Passion

by Jane Moneypenny

little_manhattan_poster_3.jpg

I just watched a surprisingly really good movie, “Little Manhattan” with some hilarious insightful thoughts of an 11-year old kid:

Gabe: [thinking] My first date. The big spender. Häagen-Dazs all the way, baby. So, how come I have nothing to say to her. Why isn’t she looking at me? Am I that hideous? Do I Smell?
Gabe: You um come here often?
Rosemary: Central Park?
Gabe: Um, yeah.
Gabe: [thinking] What kind of question is that? I hate myself.

“There are very few things more painful than watching the woman you love grapple [in karate] with another man. Actually, I take that back. There are no things more painful.”

“What choice did I have but to return to my old, miserable life? Wait a minute. You were happy. Oh, please! I was miserable. I just didn’t know how miserable I was.”

“It was the pain that had no name.”

“Love is an ugly, terrible business practiced by fools. It’ll trample your heart and leave you bleeding on the floor. And what does it really get you in the end? Nothing but a few incredible memories that you can’t ever shake. The truth is, there’s gonna be other girls out there. I mean, I hope. But I’m never gonna get another first love. That one is always gonna be her.”

I highly encourage seeing this movie for the witty writing, the great comedic moments and the fact that anyone of a certain age can relate.

On a completely unrelated note, 2 days until king cake goodness!

