“Harmless” Crushes

by Jane Moneypenny

Harmless crushes aren’t ever really harmless, are they? Especially ones there’s a slight chance of something, some tiny slimmer of hope that glows quietly. Sure, I’ve had those school-girl funny crushes on guys that never develop into feelings and just end up as exaggerated jokes among friends. But then there are those crushes that are start off harmless and end up growing and growing (due to idle thinking) and then it’s too late.

My heart skips a beat when he talks to me or is standing close and I look for him in a room. Every little thing is analyzed. He brought me a pretzel when I mentioned I was hungry; he holds my hand on crowded streets. What does that mean?! Obviously, my logical common sense knows it’s nothing. It’s a southern boy being a gentleman, but it’s impossible not to look for any sign of SOMETHING.

That’s why they call it a “crush.” It smushes your heart and common sense and you’re left doing stupid stupid stuff. Sigh.

