Dodge, Dip, Duck, Dive and Dodge.

by Penelope Smallbone

I am captain of a dodgeball team. I’m a life long “joiner” so I’ve always been involved with way too many things at once. This is the first time in awhile that I’ve actually been in charge of things. Since I love to be the center of attention, I also love to run the show. However, I find I have a tough time balancing the Fun Me with the Responsible Me. The post-game happy helps though!

I don’t have a big point to this article. Just that I am proud of my little team! We almost didn’t make it due to not enough people signing up. But a couple of ridiculously enthusiastic emails later, we had a few satellite friends sign up for the team. Now I get to hang out with some of the coolest and most spirited people every week. Oh, and we even win some games, too!

As an adult, it’s tough to find that sense of camaraderie that one may have had in high school or college. Especially in NYC, people are always looking to find something to belong to. I’m proud to have organized a team that loves playing together so much, and that I am the one who brought many of these people together. Also of note… we have ten men and four women on the team. I would say about 80% of the guys are just great. Really nice, caring guys with hard, athletic bodies. Hahahaha! Sometimes it’s great to be just friends with those people and leave it at that. 🙂

