Moneypenny = Frogger

by Jane Moneypenny

Today, I bumped into my first and probably only resistance to my quarter-life crisis plan. A former professor (I would go as far to say a friend and someone I respect and look up to) found out I was quitting my beloved job to start blind in a new city. My whole motto was, “life’s too short to be sitting around waiting for something to happen.” I like St. Louis, I love my job, I have great friends here but I’m bored and unchallenged and I’m way too young to be living a life of settled down gal.

To my surprise, she said, “I’m going to give you unsolicited advice. Life is too short to quit a job you love so much to be jobless. Take it from me, it’s hard to find something like that.” She continued on with suggesting I find a new apartment in a different area of St. Louis and re-pick up the job (they’ve hinted strongly at rehiring me after Europe) until something better comes along.

Sure, I’ve considered it. That was the initial plan. But I’ve been missing New Orleans for awhile now and getting to be home for the summer with my family and friends is just what I need to get it out of my system. Really, the only flaw in my plan is the period where I’ll have no real job and I’ll have to dig into my savings to support the family.

The conversation left me feeling confused (not confused in that I’m going to change this forward motion I’m going), but befuddled as in how she was so against it! Every reason and motivator I’ve had to make this change, she was arguing the opposite. “You’re only 25. You’re too young to be leaving something so great. And you have good friends here.” But the same could be said for leaving town for college. It was terrifying going to a new city/state and school not knowing anyone and leaving a serious boyfriend and everything I knew behind.

I feel strong in my decision, but I won’t lie and say it didn’t throw me for a few moments when someone older and that I look to for guidance was so negative toward what I see as a really positive change (even if it’s risky and scary and not completely logical). Of course I’m worried desperately; I’m the definition of the first child type A personality with responsibility and life. So what if I’m quitting an amazing job with great co-workers to be jobless and fly at the seat of my pants? If I’m going to screw up my life, might as well do it when I’m young.

I think I just may write her a postcard when I’m catching the most gorgeous sunsets in Santorini or eating delicious Italian food at the Florence market. Advice, my ass.

**Edited to update: So I just found out yesterday that my grandmother got hit by a car. She’s half way across the world so I heard about it a day later. My mom had made her start carrying my aunt’s business card in case something like this happened. The bad news was she lost a lot of blood. The good news is because she exerises/walks twice a day all over the city, she had strong bones. Sigh. Things like this terrify me. I’m not going to say life is fragile because I actually think it’s an incredibly strong force. I’ll just thank God over and over for watching over her.

