The End of the World

by Jane Moneypenny

I debated for awhile if I was going to write this entry, but I decided I would be too much of a hypocrite not to. I can understand if anyone stops reading this after the first line, but given the situation, I feel like I have to explain my feelings. Take it or leave it.

I haven’t really given much thought to the massive earthquake in China today. I’ve been in my own world, packing and thinking about myself and everything that needs to get done in the next few weeks. When I finally sat down to catch the news online and on TV, I realized how bad it was.

10,000 people.

10,000. Not 2,000 or 3,000 but 10,000. And probably much much more. That’s bigger than my college university student body. It pains me to think about this and the relatively quiet coverage it’s gotten. CNN’s playing election coverage right now. It’s easy to really just turn away from it or not feel any connection. During and after Katrina, so many of my friends just didn’t understand, didn’t reach out or just shrugged it off. I couldn’t comprehend how they didn’t grasp the situation. It pissed me off and I spent so many weeks angry at them for not being there. A lot of them hemmed and hawed about coming back home with me and truthfully, I distanced myself from them for awhile. I get that maybe they didn’t know how to help, but I couldn’t help but question friendships. I understand it now much  more, of course. It’s so easy to ignore disasters or events like that when you’re not invovled. I guess it hurt that as my friends, they would WANT to be there.

One of the few friends that did reach out to me was half a world away, studying abroad in China. I messaged him today but I haven’t heard back, so here’s to hoping all my friends and family there pop up okay soon.

I guess my point is, stuff like this makes everything that I struggle with so tiny in comparison. I wanted so badly for something to help after the storm; I can’t even imagine what’s going on in China right now. Say what you want about their human rights or politics, but something this disastrous puts us all back to being humans on an equal level. It humbles a person, ya know? It makes me feel self-absorbed and selfish and sometimes, makes me wonder why I remain friends with those that are like this daily. Is that a legit concern?

I don’t know. I’m rambling and ranting a little. About 10 fire trucks just zipped by my window. The Cards have been losing. The Hornets have been losing. Yes, I realize sports are SO insignificant but I’m in a generally blah mood. Sigh. Sorry for this slightly angry and depressing post, but the situation was too serious not to say something.

