Chemistry and Frog Legz

by Jane Moneypenny

chemistry:
1) the science that deals with the composition and properties of substances and various elementary forms of matter
2) chemical properties, reactions, phenomena, etc.: the chemistry of carbon.
3) the interaction of one personality with another: The chemistry between him and his boss was all wrong.
4) sympathetic understanding; rapport: the astonishing chemistry between the actors.
5) any or all of the elements that make up something: the chemistry of love

I have a strange fascination with chemistry between people. Does chemistry only exist if it’s mutual? If neither person acknowledges it out loud to the other, is it actually there or just in one person’s imagination? Is it then just attraction? Chemistry is such a frustrating and amazing thing. It’s a mixture of lust and a spark of emotional/intelligent connection and when it suddenly pops up, your heart feels warm and possibly like it might pop out of your chest at any minute.

But, of course, there’s always obstacles in the way. Chemistry is frustrating that way. Social dynamics of a group, girlfriends, boyfriends, distance, etc., etc. But despite all that, it’s still nice to get that little thrill in your chest and know that there’s people out there that you can have such a connection with. His are the eyes that you catch anytime something funny happens in the room. When you’re alone, all you can think about the hope he kisses you. He finds you interesting and wonders why y’all weren’t friends sooner and says how much he admires you for what you’re about to do. Boom boom boom goes the heart.

I had the one of the best days in a long time: one of those perfect summer days that makes me realize I’m so damn lucky and feeling happy is an incredible feeling. During lunch with 2 new guy friends (one which I have the above chemistry with, but as usual, he has a girlfriend), I threw out I had a tradition (started last year with Smallbone) of spontaneous adventure on Memorial Day. The next thing I knew, they had agreed to go with me to Elephant Rock State Park, a place I’ve been itching to go to for years. Most people would have scoffed at doing a 2 hour road trip so late in the day, but they were completely game and off we went through the back roads of Missouri. Not once did they look at the time and say, “It’s getting late. We really should get going.” They barely checked their watches, other to say, “It’s still early!”

Elephant Rocks

The park was everything I had hoped and much more. The giant granite boulders were for some serious hiking and climbing and anytime I had to jump over a huge gap, the guys were both incredibly encouraging, making sure we took routes that my shorter legs could take safely. Unlike most people that get annoyed with my constant picture taking, they made sure I had my camera and continually took photos whenever they held the camera when I jumped. I get this is what guys should do, but it’s not done enough: being accommodating, nice and patient and I left feeling the most energetic I’ve felt in a long time.

So despite we had work tomorrow morning, we took our time driving back, watching the scenery and little towns and the gorgeous sunset. Even more of a clue we were fated to be friends: They wanted to stop by a small town diner for some good food (I’m a huge fan of this). The place we chose was sketch though and even though the name was “Frogz,” their frog legs looked like it had just came off the amphibian and smelled like it was picked from the pond outside. It did NOT taste good or like chicken legs (and I’ve had good frog legs before). We ran out after that.

It’s a shame I discovered them so late in my life here. It’s even more of a shame I didn’t realize how good I had it here until recently. I thought for the longest time I was alone here as I watched my college friends filter out the city. But in this last year, I’ve made some incredible new friends and social/professional network and it hurts a little I’m leaving. But nothing worth doing was ever easy, right? I’m leaving on a high note with a great memory of a spontaneous road trip with bad frog legs and a crush that makes me feel 15 again…even if he has a girlfriend.

