One Year Old/ Obama-rama

by Jane Moneypenny

As of January 13, this blog is one year old! It’s definitely been a whirlwind of a year for us and one that I couldn’t have imagined experiencing without spilling my guts to strangers who have become friends! So thanks to all our (very few) faithful readers that have continually watched Smallbone and I run around with our heads chopped off sometimes. 😛 Here’s to 2009 being an equally exciting year!

This is my 2009 theme song. My best friend and I were road tripping when it came on and she quickly turned to me and excitedly said, “This song is about you!”

More importantly, of course, it was an moving day. Whether or not you’re blue or red, it’s undeniable that it’s incredible to witness history. We all sat at work, glued to our computer screens watching the live feed and rapidly responding to each other’s Facebook comments. The air condition was broken (yes, it’s that warm in Austin), the building was shaking from construction, but it still a once-in-a-lifetime experience. And while I have a large group of friends that continue to be angry about this change (fun times growing up in New Orleans, ya know), I continue to be moved by everything that’s happened.

And really, how can you deny that love and adorableness that is the President and the First Lady? How exhausting to attend 10 balls! (And I’m so excited the designer of her dress is a 26 year old from my birthplace).

