How?

by Jane Moneypenny

Due to being surrounded by thousands of geeks for a week at SXSW Interactive, I was in my little bubble of exhaustion, inspiration and excitement when I heard about the Japan earthquakes. My heart broke; Japan is a beautiful country with an breathtaking culture and history. While I only spent a week there in 2003, I can’t begin to fathom the magnitude of such a devastation. After all, New Orleans had time to get out for Katrina. There are no warnings for a 8.9 earthquake.

SXSW was quick to move; after all, this was the group to inspire activism! These were the best of the best of the digital world, pushing for change through social media, truly understanding the tools that can impact everyone’s daily lives.

I donated money to SXSW4japan, a site that initially started out only asking for the goal of $10K, which was quickly surpassed. Maybe that last push was due to the incredible keynote speech by Blake Mycoskie, the founder of TOMS shoes. I wish I could do more. I wish I could be there to help. Instead, I sometimes feel like I’m surrounded by people that tend to live in their own bubbles of unawareness of the world outside. How do I inspire change? How to do I change the world?

