Thank You, Steve Jobs

by Jane Moneypenny

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.”— Steve Jobs

On a Thanksgiving night in 1995, I was in a dark movie theater having my life changed. Pixar’s Toy Story was playing and I, a very happy 10-year old, was in complete awe. This is what I wanted to do when I grew up! I had shades of wanting to be an artist since I was a toddler, but this…THIS was where it was at!

18 years later, I am where I am in my career as a graphic designer because of that movie and Steve Jobs. He changed design to something worth investing in and because of that, I have a path in life. The old Macintosh that taught me a world beyond PCs when I was 13, the Mac Pro 4 desktop that got me through daily all-nighters through college, and the laptops that have been a constant in my life.

When I was a senior in college, my parents gifted me a white iPod Photo for my birthday. “Now you don’t have to lug that big pile of CDs to China for our family trip!” That little device wormed its way into my life, which has been 1000x more bearable because of it. It’s gotten me through tortuous international plane rides, painful workouts, boring grocery shopping and give me a moment of silence from the loud world.

Rest in peace to a very great and wonderful visionary and for showing nerds like me that you can change the world.

